Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu

(In)Credible Research 2022: SustainAbility of Science

Interdisciplinary Online Conference for Early Career Researchers

13 & 14 October 2022

With lectures, discussions and workshops, everything revolves around the quality, integrity and credibility of science.

Conference language: English

 

You are here:

Registration

PhD students and Postdocs from all disciplines were invited to attend!

To register please use the button "Registration" on the left side or click here.

About the conference

After the great success of the last two years, the interdisciplinary conference will enter its third round on 13 and 14 October 2022. Under this year's motto "SustainAbility of Science", numerous lectures, discussions and interactive workshops will again take place in the field of Good Science.

The (In)Credible Research conference 2022 is all about sustainability in science! All early career researchers, doctoral candidates and postdocs alike, are invited. The conference addresses three distinct aspects of sustainability, each of which has recently seen broad interest in the academic community and general media.  

Firstly, for ecological sustainability we ask how you scientists can save materials and energy in your you’re their everyday lab work, but also, how institutions and infrastructures can be planned and operated more efficiently. The energy- and supply crisis has catapulted this issue high up the agenda of both policymakers and laboratory managers alike. Can we do research without exhausting our resources? 

Secondly, economic sustainability means to be able to pursue a realistic career as a junior scientist. The topic has received attention lately in the #IchBinHanna debate, criticizing not only the salary, but also contract durations, working conditions and predictability. Often, short-term contracts in varying countries are the norm even after finishing the doctorate. We ask: Is it sustainable to work as a scientist?  

Thirdly, with mental and physical sustainability we address an issue which has shown its urgency most recently in the Covid crisis. Early career researchers are facing pressure and insecurity from various sides. This goes far beyond problems with the actual research. Moving from one short-time job to the next, scientistswe repeatedly need to find a new social networknew friends, get to know a new administration, and adapt our their relationships and family to this. Unclear career paths, lack of mentoring and high competition only exacerbates stress and exhaustion. Can academia be mentally sustainable for the people living in it?for scientists who chose this career path?

The discipline-independent online conference is organized by Charité in cooperation with the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH) as part of the Graduate Studies Support of the Berlin University Alliance. (In)Credible Research is organized and conducted by a group of doctoral students for doctoral students at the Berlin University Alliance.

Follow us on our social media pages!

Twitter, Instagram

(In)credible Research - What do we mean with that?

Studies that present clean, positive (i.e., hypothesis confirming) results, tell good stories, and make spectacular claims are more likely to be published than studies that find negative (i.e., not different from null), inconclusive, or mixed results and report them transparently.
The title we chose refers to this tension: Science needs to be credible rather than incredible.
Publication bias, lack of reproducibility, replicability, and transparency damage the credibility of research and distort the representation of knowledge in the literature. In the long run, this is detrimental to science as a collaborative enterprise that seeks to approximate truth about the world we live in and erodes the public's trust in the research they fund.


For a more comprehensive discussion see Simine Vazire's article "Do We Want to Be Credible or Incredible?" published in the Observer of the Association of Psychological Science: here.

Agenda

Information on the lectures and workshops will be provided shortly.

Informationen zur Registrierung

It is possible to receive ECTS points for the active participation in the conference or the Charité will issue a certificate of participation for submission to the doctoral office of the respective university. More information about the calculation of ECTS points at the Charité can be found here.

If you need any assistance to make this conference more accessible, for example an ASL or DGS interpreter, subtitles or large text, please send us an email and we will be happy to arrange it.

Our target agroup
The conference, which deals with facets of good scientific practice in the context of a PhD, is primarily aimed at doctoral students and postdocs from the four BUA partner universities (FU/HU/TU/Charité). Young researchers from other universities as well as students interested in pursuing a doctorate may be admitted if there is sufficient capacity.

Code of Conduct

At the (In)credible Research Conference, no one may be discriminated against on the grounds of racism, ethnic origin, gender, religion or world view, disability, sexual identity or age. We are committed to treating everyone with respect! We do not tolerate harassment of conference participants in any form. Conference participants who violate these rules may be excluded from the conference at the discretion of the organizing team.

Metanavigation:

Hier finden Sie den Zugang zur Notfallseite, Kontaktinformationen, Barrierefreiheits-Einstellungen, die Sprachwahl und die Suchfunktion.

Navigation öffnen

(In)Credible Research 2022: SustainAbility of Science

Interdisziplinäre Online-Konferenz für Early Career Researchers

13. & 14. Oktober 2022

In der jährlichen Konferenz zum Thema “Gute Wissenschaft” dreht sich alles um Qualität, Integrität und Glaubwürdigkeit von Wissenschaft.

Konferenzsprache: Englisch

Sie befinden sich hier:

Anmeldung

Promovierende und Postdocs aller Fachrichtungen sind herzlich zur Teilnahme eingeladen!

Zur Anmeldung nutzen Sie bitte den Button "Anmeldung" auf der linken Seite oder klicken Sie hier.

 

 

Über die Konferenz

Nach dem großen Erfolg der letzten beiden Jahre eght die interdisziplinäre Konferenz am 13. und 14. Oktober 2022 in die dritte Runde. Unter dem diesjährigen Motto „SustainAbility of Science“ finden wieder zahlreiche Vorträge, Diskussionen und interaktive Workshops im Themfeld Gute Wissenschaft statt.

Die (In)Credible Research Konferenz 2022 steht ganz im Zeichen der Nachhaltigkeit in der Wissenschaft! Eingeladen sind alle Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen, Promovierende ebenso wie Postdocs. Die Konferenz befasst sich mit drei verschiedenen Aspekten der Nachhaltigkeit, die in letzter Zeit in der akademischen Gemeinschaft und den allgemeinen Medien auf großes Interesse gestoßen sind.  

Bei der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit geht es erstens um die Frage, wie man im Laboralltag Material und Energie sparen kann, aber auch darum, wie Institutionen und Infrastrukturen effizienter geplant und betrieben werden können. Die Energie- und Versorgungskrise hat dieses Thema weit nach oben auf die Agenda von Politik und Laborleitungen katapultiert. Können wir Forschung betreiben, ohne unsere Ressourcen zu erschöpfen?

Zweitens bedeutet ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit, dass man als Nachwuchswissenschaftler*in eine realistische Karriere verfolgen kann. Das Thema hat in letzter Zeit in der #IchBinHanna-Debatte Aufmerksamkeit erregt, wobei nicht nur das Gehalt, sondern auch Vertragslaufzeiten, Arbeitsbedingungen und Vorhersehbarkeit kritisiert wurden. Oft sind befristete Verträge in unterschiedlichen Ländern auch nach der Promotion die Regel. Wir fragen: Ist es nachhaltig, als Wissenschaftlerin oder Wissenschaftler zu arbeiten?  

Drittens sprechen wir mit der geistigen und körperlichen Nachhaltigkeit ein Thema an, das seine Dringlichkeit zuletzt in der Covid-Krise gezeigt hat. Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen werden von verschiedenen Seiten unter Druck gesetzt und verunsichert. Das geht weit über Probleme mit der eigentlichen Forschung hinaus. Wenn wir von einer Kurzzeitstelle zur nächsten wechseln, müssen wir immer wieder neue Freunde finden, eine neue Verwaltung kennen lernen und unsere Beziehungen und Familie darauf einstellen. Unklare Karrierewege, fehlendes Mentoring und hohe Konkurrenz verschärfen Stress und Erschöpfung. Kann die Wissenschaft für die Menschen, die in ihr leben, psychisch nachhaltig sein?

Die disziplin-unabhängige Online-Konferenz wird im Rahmen des Graduate Studies Support an der Charité in Kooperation mit dem Berlin Institute of Health (BIH) veranstaltet. Organisiert und durchgeführt wird die (In)Credible Research Conference von einer Gruppe von Promovierenden für Promovierende der Berlin University Alliance.

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren Social Media Seiten!

Twitter, Instagram

(In)credible Research - Was verstehen wir darunter?

Studien, die saubere, positive (d.h. die Hypothese bestätigende) Ergebnisse präsentieren, gute Geschichten erzählen und spektakuläre Behauptungen aufstellen, werden mit größerer Wahrscheinlichkeit veröffentlicht als Studien, die negative (d.h. sich nicht von „Null“ unterscheidende), nicht schlüssige oder gemischte Ergebnisse finden und von diesen transparent berichten.
Der von uns gewählte Titel verweist auf dieses Spannungsfeld: Wissenschaft muss glaubwürdig und nicht unglaublich sein. Verzerrte Veröffentlichungen, mangelnde Reproduzierbarkeit, Wiederholbarkeit und Transparenz schaden der Glaubwürdigkeit der Forschung und verzerren die Darstellung des Wissens in der Literatur. Langfristig schadet dies der Wissenschaft als kollaborativem Unterfangen, das sich der Wahrheit über die Welt, in der wir leben, annähern will und untergräbt das Vertrauen der Öffentlichkeit in die von ihr finanzierte Forschung.
 

Eine umfassendere Diskussion findet sich in Simine Vazires Artikel "Do We Want to Be Credible or Incredible?", der im Observer of the Association of Psychological Science veröffentlicht wurde: hier.

Unser Konferenzziel ist die Förderung einer glaubwürdigen Forschungspraxis und Stärkung der ECRs durch die Bereitstellung von Schulungen und einer Plattform für die Zusammenarbeit.

Agenda

Donnerstag, 13. Oktober 2022

Änderungen vorbehalten, Stand: 30.09.2021

Uhrzeit

Tagesordnung

Themen und Personen

 

8.45 - 9.00

Ankommen

   

9.00 - 9:15

Begrüßung durch die Organisator:innen & Willkommensgruß

Grußwort

 

9.15 - 10.30

Eröffnungs-Keynote

by Anne Urai

 

10.30 - 10.45

Kaffeepause

.

 

10.45 - 12.15

Workshop-Runde 1

Ecological Sustainability by Dr. Jürgen Knödlseder ; by Simon Batt-Nauerz ; by Michael Hinz

 

12.15 - 13.15

Mittagspause

Cooking lunch break

 

13.15 - 14.30

Vortrag-Runde 1

Economical situation of early carreer researchers by Amrei Bahr (initiator of IchBinHanna)

 

14.30 - 14.40

Kaffeepause

.

 

14.40 - 16.10

Workshop-Runde 2

Economic sustainability by Alex Schiller

 

16.10 - 16:20

Kaffeepause

.

 

16.20 - 17.20

Panel-Diskussion

with Amrei Bahr, Anne Urai

 

17.20 - 17.45

Pause

.

 

17.45 - End

Social Evening Online-Event

   

Freitag, 14. Oktober 2022

Änderungen vorbehalten, Stand: 30.09.2021

Uhrzeit

Tagesordnung

Themen und Personen

 

9.00 - 9.15 Uhr

Willkommen

.

 

9.15 - 10.30 Uhr

Keynote

Sustainable Leadership by Nicolas Outa

 

10.30 - 10.45 Uhr

Kaffeepause

.

 

10.45 - 12.15 Uhr

Workshop-Runde 3

How to come along as a international PhD student by Julia Ablle (HU-Docs) ; Mental health for doctoral candidates by Scholar-minds (Sandra, Majed and Maria) ; Managing upwards by Dragonfly mental health network ; Alex Schiller ; Imposter syndrome by Dragonfly mental health network

 

12.15 - 13.15 Uhr

Mittagspause

Yoga by Doris Müllner

 

13.15 - 14.30 Uhr

Vortrag-Runde 2

Mental and physical sustainability by Dragonfly mental health network

 

14.30 - 14.45 Uhr

Kaffeepause

   

14.45 - 15.45 Uhr

Interactive wrap-up

Mental and physical sustainability

 

15.45-16.15 Uhr

Schlusswort

   

Informationen zur Registrierung

Es besteht die Möglichkeit für die aktive Teilnahme an der Konferenz ECTS Punkte gut geschrieben zu bekommen bzw. die Charité stellt eine Teilnahme-Bescheinigung zur Vorlage für das Promotionsbüro der jeweiligen Universität aus. Mehr Informationen zur Berechnung der ECTS Punkte an der Charité findest du hier

Wenn du eine Hilfestellung benötigst, um diese Konferenz zugänglicher zu machen, zum Beispiel einen ASL- oder DGS-Dolmetscher, Untertitel oder Großtext, sende uns bitte eine E-Mail, und wir werden das selbstverstädnlich gerne einrichten.

Unsere Zielgruppe
Die Konferenz, die sich mit Facetten einer guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis im Rahmen einer Promotion auseinandersetzt, richtet sich in erster Linie an Promovierende und Postdocs der vier BUA-Partner-Universitäten (FU/HU/TU/Charité). Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen anderer Universitäten sowie an einer Promotion interessierte Studierende können bei ausreichender Kapazität zugelassen werden.

Verhaltenskodex

Bei der (In)credible Research Conference darf niemand aus rassistischen Gründen, wegen seiner ethnischen Herkunft, des Geschlechts, der Religion oder Weltanschauung, aufgrund einer Behinderung, der sexuellen Identität oder des Alters benachteiligt werden. Wir setzen uns für einen respektvollen Umgang aller miteinander ein! Wir dulden keine Belästigung von Konferenzteilnehmenden in irgendeiner Form. Konferenzteilnehmende, die gegen diese Regeln verstoßen, können nach dem Ermessen des Organisationsteams von der Konferenz ausgeschlossen werden.